As part of the reformed alcohol and other drug service system the Department of Health and Human Services have developed area-based pharmacotherapy networks across Victoria. The key objectives of the networks are to:

  • Improve the overall health and wellbeing of pharmacotherapy clients by reducing drug use, reducing drug related harms and enhancing community participation, social connectedness, lifestyle stability and productivity.
  • Enhance service integration, coordination, referral pathways and collaboration between community based and specialist ORT providers, and the broader AOD treatment sector.
  • Reduce the vulnerability of the community-based pharmacotherapy system by adopting and maintaining a robust and sustainable whole-of-system approach linked to the AOD treatment sector reform.

In total there are 5 pharmacotherapy networks across the state –  three regional / rural and two metropolitan networks. The three regional / rural networks are:

Area 1 – Western Victoria Pharmacotherapy Network
Lead Agency: Western Victoria Primary Health Network

Area 2 – Grampians Loddon Mallee Pharmacotherapy Network: “ORTicare”
Lead Agency: Ballarat Community Health

Area 3 – Hume Gippsland Pharmacotherapy Network
Lead Agency: Latrobe Community Health Service